MVC Version

Sep 17, 2010 at 1:44 PM

Hi djbyter, 

Do you have a rough idea of when the MVC starter site will be up and running? Could really do with some help getting Chargify working in an MVC environment.

Thanks

Dave

Coordinator
Sep 17, 2010 at 6:44 PM

Hey Dave,

I can try and put some more time into it, I'm no MVC expert .. so it's a little more slow going. Just keep watching this thread, I'll make sure I reply when I've checked in that code.

Kori

Coordinator
Sep 17, 2010 at 7:08 PM

Actually, Dave .. do you think you could give me a tip or two? I have the main sample site duplicated mostly .. except I'm not quite sure how to bring the following concept over from ASP.NET to ASP.NET MVC .. 

In the ASP.NET site, you'll see that all the important pages that access your chargify information, do so by inheriting ChargifyPage and then accessing the property "Chargify". How would this work in ASP.NET MVC? My instinct says that it would be a model - since "models" are the components of the application that are responsible for maintaining state, right?

Once I can figure that out, then I should be a little better to move forward ..

Kori

Sep 19, 2010 at 3:44 PM

Hi Kori, 

I'll certainly help if I can. 

In my test project so far I have had to bypass the ChargifyPage and just use ChargifyConnect in each controller action instead. Not ideal but it works for now. I think you are correct in that a model is the way to go here.

In terms of the rest of the wrapper everything seems to work ok with MVC except for the list pages where the  IDictionary<string, ICustomer> format doesn't play well with what MVC is expecting, which is generally IEnumerable.

I'd be happy to work on the MVC sample project with you and see what we can get together if you like. 

Thanks

Dave

Sep 19, 2010 at 3:49 PM